monkey off my back

One guy's experiences as he quits drinking

1461 days

Leave a comment

Ha – it’s a year since my last post! 1461 days sober (that’s 4 years now). No desire to drink booze – the idea makes me shudder. Why the fuck would I open that can of worms again?

It hasn’t been all rosy though – being sober has made me really notice the underlying anxiety I experience. It was a bit part of why I drank – to calm my farm, get a temporary break from my brain and chill out.

Over the last few years I’ve been on and off and anti-anxiety medication (Lexapro/Escitalopram). When it’s taken at a low dosage (10mg) it’s helpful for generalised anxiety. I’ve been considering it again lately – but I’ll wait a bit.

Like most people around the globe there have been some pretty large anxiety triggers in the last few years… pandemics, talk of the next “Great Depression”, the threat of global war or nuclear war, economic impacts of war, major flooding and wild fires (in Australia). It’s certainly been a wild ride.

I’m so glad I quit before the world went to hell. I can’t imagine working like a maniac (in health) and having the extra burden of struggling with a secret booze dependency.

I’ve gradually told a few more friends. Most of my inner circle (and their partners) know why I quit drinking . Other friends probably instinctively know why – but they’ve been polite and haven’t asked (and I haven’t said). I just say that I’m not drinking when we’re out.
Anyway – hope you’re well. I’ll see if I can post again before day 1826 😉

Leave a comment